The Imperial Society of Teachers of Dancing is one of the world's leading dance examination boards with the widest range of dance genres available. We take examinations using the syllabus from Primary - Advanced 1 in Classical Ballet, Modern Theatre & Tap dance.

The ISTD achieved Government recognition in November 2000 and was further recognised to operate in the Qualifications and Credit Framework in 2010 (now the Regulated Qualifications Framework) by the Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator (Ofqual) in England. The Society is also recognised by Qualifications Wales, the Regulator in Wales, and the Council for Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment (CCEA), the Regulator for Northern Ireland, which recognise the Society and its qualifications in those countries

We encourage all students to study for and take dance exams with us although this is not compulsory.

Examinations from Grade 6 upwards also offer UCAS points, towards your child's application form for university.
Pupils can take examinations in Classical Ballet, Modern & Tap provided they are at the required standard.. Examination sessions are usually held in the Spring & Summer terms at our hall here in Chislehurst.

All students studying for examinations are required to attend additional exam practice classes during the 12 weeks leading up to the examination.

UCAS tariff points translate your qualifications and grades into a numerical value, which some universities, colleges, and conservatoires may refer to in their course entry requirements. If students took their Grade 6 and/or Intermediate from 1st September 2010 (when the qualification was transferred to the Qualifications and Credit Framework), they can receive the following UCAS points.

The number of points they can get depends on how well they did in their examination (i.e. Distinction, Merit or Pass)

Grade 6 Tariff Points
Distinction 12
Merit 10
Pass 8

Intermediate Tariff Points
Distinction 20
Merit 14
Pass 8

When completing the online UCAS online application form, there are multiple sections that need to be completed:

Selecting the subject (Dance) and then specifying the genre (e.g. Imperial Classical Ballet)
Inputting the qualification date as stated on the certificate
Selecting the awarding organisation - the Imperial Society of Teachers of Dancing should appear on this list
Selecting the grade (Distinction, Merit or Pass)
Equivalence of qualifications levels

Level 3 Equivalent to A Level standard
Level 4 Equivalent to the first year of a degree or a Certificate of Higher Education
Level 5 Equivalent to the second year of a degree, a Diploma of Higher Education, a Foundation Degree or a Higher National Diploma
Level 6 Equivalent to a Bachelor's degree with or without Honours
Level 7 Equivalent to a Master's degree or to a PGCE
Level 8 Equivalent to a Doctoral degree Merit M